Skip to content

leaves and such

May 26, 2010

we are currently freaking out on the plant/garden aspects of being homeowners. This is no exaggeration when I say that for the past 4 days straight we’ve been outside getting sunburned and hauling dirt like a champ. The front garden area has been rid of the 6 foot monster bushes (yes this time we know for certain that we don’t want them there) and just moments ago been replaced by a lovely albeit sparse flower garden. Plus this weekend mr broke went above and beyond constructing 3 raised garden beds to grow veggies while I transplanted a veritable gully of ferns from my lovely friends yard.

these are some of the ferns that flank our ikea patio furniture, we plan on replacing the rusty fence with something both wood and modern, but have yet to nail down the design completely.

herbs, and the sweetest stamped vintage cutlery labels that mr broke’s sister surprised us with not too long ago!

this was a planter idea that i had at home depot the other day, they’re just cinder blocks, but I love them none the less

garbage find chair and more ikea

yay! it’s fern gully!

so I got really excited by how the ferns make it feel very 60’s in the back yard, which is kinda the look I’m going for in the end… I got super inspired by the Trina Turk house tour in Living magazine this month, but couldn’t really find many images but here is the snippet I found to give you an idea of what is guiding the back yard aesthetics….

(roseapodaca)

obviously our house will never look like this, but I’m so into how modern but not overly new it feels, which is something I do think we could accomplish.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thehouseonpennylane permalink
    May 26, 2010 3:05 pm

    I love the ferns! I want some for myself, but worry my soil will be too dry and clay-y for it. I’m really digging the cylinder block idea. I think I might do this myself, some day.

    • May 26, 2010 5:24 pm

      I wouldn’t worry too much they seem really resilient, the yard i got them from was in full sun, which I think is exactly what they don’t like, yet they were doing really well. And, thanks, the planters are so fun and cheap I think we might do a few more!

Leave a Reply

